100 year old Semi-detached modernised and extended house - Nr Edinburgh (Dunfermline)

We live in an old house that we have extensively remodelled and extended. It has 3 bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. Downstairs we have a large living room and very big newly renovated kitchen and dining/living space. The kitchen leads out onto a decked area and down to our south facing garden. We also have an office downstairs, which could be used as a bedroom (has a futon in there). We have a downstairs shower room and toilet also. As we have two kids who are just about to turn 6 and 3 we have a really good selection of toys, bikes, scooter, books etc. a family with young kids would be really at home here and there’s so much to do and see locally.

We have garage and front garden with driveway. On a main road but there’s a gate so it’s safe for kids. The house has been our home for 11 years and lots of renovation work, 2 kids and a very large dog later it’s unrecognisable. Really homely and functional for a family with kids. We also have a small contained utility room with washer and dryer.

About the location

We live in Dunfermline on a main route, which is across the street from a train station and public park. We are walking distance to the historic old part of Dunfermline and also the fabulous Pittencrieff park (known as The Glen to locals). Dunfermline has the amazing Carnegie library and museum, Dunfermline Abbey and St Margaret’s Cave. Lots of restaurant and cafe choices in town (our favourites are Cafe Wynd, Vegan 269, Koku Shi, Incontri, Kushis and Little Thailand street food).

Cycling and walking routes are available locally and public transport routes are great (30 minute train ride to Edinburgh twice per hour most days).

Bus and train links are available to other tourist destinations in Fife and further afield (such as St Andrews, Dundee for the V & A, Glasgow). Perth is 30 minutes car ride away, which offers a gateway to the Highlands.

There is a Leisure park around 2 miles (cycle path) from our home, which offers a number of restaurants, garden centre with kids soft play, bowling and a large cinema).

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Pets welcome
  • Children welcome

Dunfermline (HE40743)

Fife,   Scotland

  • 4 bed   (sleeps 5) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Europe
  • UK
  • Open to offers
European and U.K. breaks

Dates available

July 2022 - August 2022
October 2022 - October 2022

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 2
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 29 Mar 2023