Cosy converted farmhouse in Pisan Hills

My house is in a very pretty location in the Pisan hills next to a stream and waterfall. Ideal for a couple but comfortable for 3 as there is a single pull out bed in the small bedroom or a 3/4 roll up futon. The building was previously a farmhouse, converted and renovated into 2 houses about 15 years ago. There is nothing regular about it; the walls aren't all straight, there are beautiful curves and corners and arched and beamed ceilings.

Downstairs: living room, sitting room/study, bathroom with shower, kitchen
Upstairs: main bedroom, small bedroom, closet
Toilet and washbasin half way up stairs

Small garden but perfect for outdoor relaxing/dining under the gazebo. Being up in the hills it is cooler in the summer and there are much fewer/if any mosquitoes. Winter can be cold in Italy too but it is a cosy house with a wood stove and central heating.

I only moved to this house in June 2021, embarking on a new stage in my life. I have experience of house exchanges and know what it means to look after and respect somebody else's house.

About the location

I`ve selected rural but the house is located in a very small village (Hamlet?), Castelmaggiore, in the Pisan hills. It isn't remote but it is away from the noise and bustle of Pisa which is why I moved here. Pisa airport is 20 minutes away, the centre of Pisa 15. The nearest town, Calci, for shops and restaurants is 5 minutes away and can be reached on foot if you like a good uphill (on the way back) walk. There is a bus service. Calci has everything you need - all essential food shops, bar-patisserie, pizzerias, restaurants, bank, street market on Wednesdays.

Castelmaggiore has a local food shop for essentials and you can walk to a micro brewery which makes excellent beer (open Fri-Sun eve). If you want to walk/explore the hills, try the many trattorias in the area, visit Pisa and Lucca, and also be at the sea in less than 40 minutes, you won't fault the location.

You can park outside the house to unload - and the neighbours are all super friendly about leaving a car a bit longer - and then move it to one of 2 parking areas, one 20 metres from the house and where I nearly always find a space. I'm happy to discuss use of my car and 50cc scooter.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • No pets allowed

Castelmaggiore (HE40327)

Pisa,   Italy

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 3) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • England
  • London
  • Open to offers
Exchange arranged for summer 2023

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 2 - 3 weeks

Meet the member

Adults: 1      Children: 0
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 30 Jul 2023