Spacious Victorian Family Home

Our lovely semi detached Victorian home in leafy North London is the ideal base for exploring London and perfect for entertaining both children and families. There are a number of lovely restaurants, bars, and shops within walking distance, and the centre of London is easily accessed by either bus, train or undergound.

Spread over 4 floors, our modern, bright and spacious 5 bedroom home easily accommodate up to 9 people. The master bedroom, and ensuite have been refurbished this year with new shower, terrazzo tiling and underfloor heating. There are an additional two bathrooms at the top and bottom of the house (one with bath, one with shower) that have not yet been refurbished. Both children`s rooms in the top of the house are spacious with single beds, and are next to the laundry room with separate washer/ drier. There are a further two guest bedrooms; one with a double bed on second floor, and one with a very comfortable pull out double couch and single bed on the lower ground floor with doors opening directly to the garden.

In addition, we have two generous reception rooms, with large TV, and very fast broadband, and two offices (with piano and rowing machine) . Our modern kitchen is well equipped with gaggenau appliances and built in coffee machine. Larger groups of up to 10 can be accommodated with bench seating and an extending table.

Our 100 ft southwest facing garden catches the sun, with lovely wide flowering borders. It`s set up for outdoor dining with a table/ parasol and barbecue on the large patio next to house. The back of the garden is a shadier retreat with a smaller table, a hammock, and a somewhat temperamental hot tub.

We live here with our two children (9 and 12), two affectionate and talkative Siamese cats (brothers), and some low maintenance fish. We are open to house swaps during the school holidays. Cats & fish would stay with the house.

There is on street parking, and we can provide visitors parking permits although it`s not necessary to have a car to explore London. We would also consider a car swap subject to insurance. We have two adult bikes and two children`s bikes that could be used.

About the location

There are several easy routes into central London from our house. Haringey overground station is 3 blocks away which brings you into Moorgate, the financial centre and the area around St Paul`s cathedral. It is a 15 minute walk to Finsbury park station (or a shorter bus ride) where you can catch either the Victoria or Piccadilly line to access all of London`s attractions including museums, galleries, theatres and nightlife.

Locally, there are a number of excellent restaurants, bakeries, shops and pubs within walking distance and we would be happy to recommend our favourites. Our neighbourhood has a friendly feel, and we are close to number of large parks and green spaces including Highgate Woods, Finsbury Park, Woodberry Wetlands and Hampstead Heath.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Children welcome
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Pet Care required

Crouch End (HE39827)

London,   England

  • 5 bed   (sleeps 9) 3 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers
  • Greece
simultaneous exchange preferred so our social cats have company and care

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 2

Membership expiry date: 13 Oct 2024