Large family home close to Bruges, LOOKING FOR NEW YORK IN SUMMER 2015 home swap

A quietly located spacious one-family home, semi-detached, built in the seventies and very well cared for. Three bedrooms upstairs. Large living room with cosy fireplace and a large international collection of books (at least half of which in English) and a good music and film collection. Large, modern and well equipped kitchen. A relatively large upstairs bathroom has a.o. a shower/bath in one. Two more separate toilets downstairs, one in the entry hall and one close by the garden-door. Fourth room donwstairs, used as a hobby room and for storage. Medium sized garden, with nice patio (incl. electric sunscreen) basic garden furniture, BBQ and a cozy garden swing.

About the location

The house is set in a short dead-end street, so there is no traffic going through. However it's very close to the highway E40 (Liege-Brussels-Ostend) : by car it takes only 25 minutes to Ostend (the sea) or to Gent (culture, shopping, restaurants), and only about 15 minutes to historic medieval Bruges, by car. The city centre of Bruges is only 40 minutes by bicycle or 8 minutes by train. To Brussels is less than an hour by car or by train. From our house it's a less than 5 minutes walk to the train station (trains to Bruges, Ostend, Gent, Brussels,...) and the bus stop (to Bruges). There's a very good bakery and several supermarkets within only 5 minutes walking distance. A natural park with lots of forests is very close by (about 2 km), as is the canal Bruges-Gent (less than 2 km), along which there are several nature reserves (interesting birdlife), good for taking long walks, or going running or cycling. All in all it's a very quiet neighbourhood, but surprisingly well connected to the surrounding cities.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • Children welcome

Beernem (HE31701)

West Flanders,   Belgium

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 5) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • New York

Dates available

July 2015 - July 2015
July 2015 - August 2015

Swap duration: 2 - 3 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 2
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 06 Feb 2015