It's on the third floor of an early 1900s house near the centre of the city. Carefully renovated to preserve the character of the building, with all mod cons. The architect who planned it out with me created a remarkable home inspired by Vienna-style art nouveau in a street that has some beautiful houses in that style.

In summer, I spend most of my time at home on a terrace with a spectacular view over the city, including sunsets that last till 22:00 in midsummer.

There are two bedrooms, each with a double bed. One has an en suite bathroom with a shower, the other has a bath.

A large kitchen/diner is very well equipped, with a dining table for six.

There's a spacious L-shaped lounge, with doors leading on to the terrace decked with ivy-leafed geraniums and campanulas.

This apartment is not suitable for children or for anyone who would have difficulty climbing three flights of stairs. There is no lift.

About the location

The street is lined with houses built in the early 1900s. Large park 10 mins walk. Two shopping streets, one at each end of my street. Excellent public transport links -- tram in my street; metro 5 mins walk, buses to all points in Brussels; only 15 mins by metro to Brussels' fabulous Grand Place. You can also take a tram to the forest -- about 30 mins.

Type of home swap

  • Weekend Exchange
  • Bed and Breakfast Offered

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • No small children

Brussels (HE31315)

Brussels,   Belgium

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 2) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offer


Meet the member

Membership expiry date: 24 Dec 2014