Small Holding in the Making home swap

House/farm sitter wanted. We recently bought this old Manse and are working on turning it into a small holding. We now require a house sitter to look after the animals while we visit family abroad. It's fairly low maintain maintenance, if you can carry a bucket of water you'll be ok. There are pigs, geese and chickens to be fed, let out in the morning and locked up at dusk, while the sheep and bees pretty much look after themselves. No mucking out required. The rest of the day you can do as you please so plenty opportunity to explore the surrounding area. We have 4 acres which is currently mostly to pasture. The house has 3 double bedrooms and a child's single, but plenty room for further accommodation if you are not too fussy on how you sleep. There is a dressing room, 2 reception rooms and a dining room all of which could comfortably take a double air bed (we have a few of those too). The garden has a fire pit and bbq area should you be lucky enough to see the Scottish sun shine.

We also have a flat in Edinburgh which could be tied in (HE21219)

About the location

This is an excellent location for golf. Donald Trump's flagship course is less than half an hour away, but there are many others including 2012 Scottish Open host Royal Aberdeen, and UK top 10 Cruden Bay. Also half an hour to several fantastic wild beaches or to the city of Aberdeen. There is a stocked trout lake 10 mins away. We are on the Castle trail. Within a comfortable day trip distance is the Speyside whisky trail, skiing and mountaineering. Generally the immediate area is very rural and offers forrest walks and village pubs although there is little within walking distance. The nearest public transport connection is 10 miles away in Ellon. Car reccommended.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Weekend Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • No pets allowed
  • Children welcome

Auchnagatt (HE31274)

Aberdeenshire,   Scotland

  • 5 bed   (sleeps 10) 3 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers
Looking for a house/farm sitter 4th to 14th October. Plus a day or two to learn the ropes.

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offer


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 2
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 25 Nov 2015