Modern family home with plenty of light home swap

15 mins walk from the centre of Exeter & 10 mins walk from the countryside. Views from all the back windows across the city to the countryside beyond. The house is light and sunny, a modern family home. There is a climbing frame in the safely enclosed garden and plenty of toys inside too!

Exeter is a thriving university and cathedral city and most places are walkable from the house (although be warned, we are on a hill) but it is also a great base for exploring Devon where there's loads of lovely stuff to do... Dartmoor, beaches, great days out for all ages... (not that I'm biased or anything!).

For those who don't know... Devon is known for its green rolling countryside and lovely villages. We are conveniently situated for the beautiful south and north Devon coasts, and Cornwall's dramatic scenery. Excellent motorway and train connections to vibrant Bristol, historic Bath and London. Exeter has an airport and ferries to Brittany run from Plymouth, just an hour away.

Upstairs there are 3 bedrooms, an office and bathroom. The main bedroom has an ensuite shower room and a superking size bed. The spare room has a double bed and the children's room has two childrens beds. Their room has a double height ceiling with 2 velux windows which makes it a nice space to be in at any time of day. (Although you'll probably be out exploring). We also have a cot which would fit in the spare room, the children's room or the office if necessary.

We have the usual mod cons and creature comforts - dishwasher, fast internet, wifi, projector TV and by Christmas we should have a wood burning stove installed in the living room for cosy evenings.

A car is handy (we are open to swapping) but there is a bus stop outside the house and we are close to St James Park station for trains which run scenic routes along each side of the Exe estuary to Exmouth in one direction and Dawlish and Teignmouth in the other.
Here's a link to a leaflet about the Exe Estuary:

The neighbours are friendly!

We have a cat who is very affectionate but also independent - he just needs food putting down daily (and we have an automatic feeder if you want to leave for a couple of days). It would be helpful if you would feed him but he could be looked after elsewhere if necessary.

Photos of the living room coming soon.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Open to Offers
  • Weekend Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • Children welcome

Exeter (HE29578)

Devon,   England

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 8) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • UK
  • Open
  • Scotland

Dates available

April 2015 - January 2015
January 2015 - December 2015

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 2
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 03 Oct 2015