Lovely 5 Bed home swap in Groningen, The Netherlands

We are looking for two exchanges:
1. A long term (6 month) home swap in 2014 (second half). We are especially looking for BC Canada, but we are open to any offer in a English speaking country. We will take a sabbatical and our children want to visit the local (high-)school.
2. A short holiday exchange to London in the first week of may 2014. (exactly: april 27th to may 4th)

Our home is located in the Groningen area in the Netherlands. It is a 320 m2 (= 3400 Square Feet) non smoking house suitable for 6 persons.

The house was built in 2003 and has all modern comforts. We have a big lovely open-plan kitchen central kitchen (stove/oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave) and we love to cook here. The house has a modern central heating for the winter but for a cozy warm radiation you can also use the wood fired masonry heater. We usually dine in the spacious dining room at our antique family table that sits up to 12 person. There is an open living room with a lot of natural light. One sleeping room is downstairs the other 4 are upstairs. There are three full bathrooms and one extra toilet. In the whole house there is high speed WiFi available.

We have a cleaning lady who is willing to come every week if you want to.
The garden is next to a park with a pond and there are apple trees, red and black currants bushes.

We live in the village Zuidhorn which is close to (10 minutes drive) to the city and university of Groningen. Zuidhorn is a beautiful old village with a lot of sports and cultural activities. Shops, restaurants, public transport and schools are on walking distance. Our street is located in a quiet family neighborhood. One of our neighbors from Canada can help you with any practical problem. If you want to go to the city centre of Groningen you could take the train (10 minutes) or go by bike like a lot of Dutch people do. Of course you can use our bikes and our car will be there for you, too. Groningen is university town with a marvelous old town. You will find museums, galleries, lots of caf?s, an ice skating centre and other touristic attractions. The North Sea is about 40 km to the north and in les then two hours drive you can reach the metropolis of Amsterdam or Bremen (Germany).

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Long Term Exchange
  • Non Simultaneous Exchange
  • Open to Offers

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Children welcome

Groningen (HE29548)

Groningen,   The Netherlands

  • 5 bed   (sleeps 6) 3.5 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Canada:Vancouver BC
  • England: London
  • open to offers

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 6 months +


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 4
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 24 Sep 2014