Charming, modest, renovated 1905 former farm dwelling home swap

Charming, modest, renovated 1905 former farm dwelling. Ideal for couple. Possible for four people. Living room, dining room open to kitchen, two rooms we use as offices, large loft bedroom, comfy guest / music room that doubles as second bedroom, exercise / play area room, and shop. Small, private back yard has deck, dining patio, barbecue grill, and garden (lots of raspberries to pick late June and July).

Our house is in a tree-lined residential neighborhood. 3-10-minute walk to supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, bank, library, movies, shops, two bus lines, and inviting large, multi-use park with tennis and basketball courts. We are 8 minutes to downtown Portland by car, 10 minutes by bus.

Portland is a lively, culturally rich and environmentally forward city 1 1/2 hours equi-distant from mountains and gorgeous Oregon coast. The city has both world-class and intimate ethnic restaurants, Powell's Books (one branch around corner from us), comprehensive public transportation, and is a paradise for bikers. Excellent art and science museums, 2nd busiest central library in U.S., galleries, 30 miles of parkland and hiking trails within the city. Spectacular 5-week chamber music festival in June and July featuring Lincoln Center and internationally-based artists. Music, theater, clubs, nightlife, and dance opportunities of all kinds. High-quality local produce at farmer's markets throughout the city. Oregonians are friendly and will welcome you. We are close to Reed College, Concordia University, Portland State University, Lewis and Clark College, and The University of Portland.

What we're seeking: We seek simplicity and comfort, not luxury. We are looking for a small apartment or house in either a scenic location (small village or town) where we can walk to shops with basic necessities or in a major city within walking distance to public transportation. PLEASE NOTE WE PREFER TO EXCHANGE WITHIN EUROPE.

AUTO AND CHILDREN: We may possibly be able to arrange use of our car, depending on circumstances, but we ourselves prefer not to depend on driving within Europe. As far as children go, please no small ones (based on previous experience) but older ones okay.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Hospitality Exchange
  • Long Term Exchange
  • Non Simultaneous Exchange
  • Open to Offers
  • Rental Offered

Conditions of home exchange

  • No small children
  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed

Portland (HE29512)

Oregon,   USA

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 4) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • UK
  • Europe
  • Open to offers

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offers

Meet the member

Adults: 2     
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 17 Oct 2017