Beautiful historic rural home set in a secluded location just 5 miles from Monmouth home swap

We live in a large, beautiful and comfortable detached house on the top of a remote hill near the picturesque town of Monmouth.

Our home is well set up for children but would equally suit a group of adults - the house works just as well for 2 as it does for 6 (plus kids). We have a spacious well equipped kitchen and sunny day room with far reaching views, a formal living room & impressive dining room. There is also a snug with a woodburner and a 46" TV with all the film/sport channels - a proper boys room.

The en-suite master bedroom has a giant four poster bed. We have 2 attic bedrooms (one en-suite) and two lovely children's bedrooms - a nursery & a toddlers room with additional futon.

We have 3 friendly dogs: William, Didby & George. Other than a morning feed and the odd walk the pets are easy to look after and great company.

We are situated above the river Monnow in the Monnow Valley which is the natural divide between England & Wales and the house and drive (which is 1km long) have extensive views over 6 counties (see photo). Our area is foodie heaven boasting restaurants such as The Hardwick and The Walnut Tree within easy reach, our local is The Bell at Skenfrith - if wine is your thing then it's award winning wine list will please you (as it does my husband).

With nothing but the distant sound of sheep and birdsong (the odd woof too of course) our home is the perfect location for a peaceful holiday yet it's still in striking distance of Abergavenny, Ross-On-Wye, The Cotswolds & The Brecon Beacons for day-trips. There are numerous castles including Raglan Castle & 'The Three Castles to keep the little ones entertained and a liberal smattering of petting farms and soft-play centers for rainy days.

Set in 7 acres of garden, paddock and wood there is room to roam and we have an area set up just for toddlers with a trampoline and other outside toys. We have large outside areas for dining and a gas barbeque.

For more information please email.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Housesitting Wanted
  • Open to Offers

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Children welcome
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Pet Care required

Monmouth (HE28817)

Herefordshire,   England

  • 5 bed   (sleeps 8) 4 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Ideally UK & Europe but would consider further afield

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offer

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 2

Membership expiry date: 04 May 2017