Delightful Victorian London house for up to 6 people home swap

Our house is in a Victorian terrace (built 1895) with a small garden where you can relax and eat. We have updated to fit with modern needs, but retaining period character. The house sleeps up to 6 people in 4 bedrooms. We have many period features like original fireplaces (one of which we still use), stripped pine floors, lovely cornices, even a bell-push in one bedroom for a maid — but no maid supplied, sorry! The kitchen is well-equipped and large enough to eat in it, and retains its original fireplace and pine dresser. There are four bedrooms — all doubles, but we use two as doubles and two as singles. There is WiFi, and a laser printer that you are welcome to use, and a sizeable library — fiction, history, natural history and art, in particular. The house is fine for a couple or family, and for longer stays we usually offer the services of our housekeeper.

About the location

This is a popular area, particularly with families, as it is very near to the centre of London, with all its facilities, cultural venues and attractions, but is more peaceful than the most central areas. Most homes are owned by families, many with children, and the area has a community feel. There are excellent transport connections — we're on underground and bus routes, and you can get quickly into central London by bus or underground trains — Tube. There are good local shops, and an abundance of nearby restaurants, most catering to children, and providing for various cuisines and price ranges. Close by are a number of good supermarkets selling a wide range of items; and there's a useful row of local shops (three-minute walk) for basics. Also, as in many parts of London, there are plenty of nearby open spaces, including beside the Thames, to enjoy and relax in.

If you want to get out of London for a while, we are on the southwest side of the city, which is good for getting out into the countryside, to the South Coast, to travel westwards, or to the airport.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Housesitting Offered
  • Long Term Exchange
  • Weekend Exchange
  • Open to Offers

Conditions of home exchange

  • No pets allowed

Clapham (HE28801)

London,   England

  • 4 bed   (sleeps 6) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Europe

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offers

Meet the member

Adults: 2     
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 02 May 2017