Lovely 3 Bed home swap in Dudley, England

We need a house/cat sitter 19 Sept to 19 Oct; or home swap Wellington 26 Sept to 9 Oct.

Our modern detached house is located in Dudley, a small village approximately 20 minutes by car from Newcastle Upon Tyne. There is a good bus service into town, and also into Northumberland. Mainline trains go to York, London, Birmingham, Manchester and Liverpool and also into Scotland eg Edinburgh. It is possible to get train tickets quite cheaply if booked early.

It is not really necessary to have a car, although it does make travelling around more convenient.

House details:

3 bedrooms [1 is ensuite], family bathroom, 1 study [upstairs], dining room, sitting room, morning room,
kitchen [dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, 2 oven cooker, microwave etc],
downstairs wc.

Sun room at back of kitchen, with table, 6 chairs & settee. We use this as a breakfast room, especially in good weather.

Garden with garden furniture. Parking on drive for 2+ cars. Garage used as storage room!!!!

The village has a community centre, with gym, library etc; there is a small supermarket, butcher, newsagent, hairdresser, pubs etc.

Taxis cost £11.00 into Newcastle.

Local attractions include:

Newcastle Upon Tyne: shopping [MetroCentre in Gateshead is very large indoor mall, with entertainment, restaurants, etc], museums, art galleries, many restaurants etc.

Beaches: Whitley Bay, Tynemouth
National Parks: Kielder [offers boating, wildlife, walking].

English Heritage: Castles [Northumberland was a fortified area so has many castles, some in ruins others viewable]. Bamburgh is a favourite, and Alnwick Castle is where Harry Potter was filmed and also has ‘Barter Books’ developed on the old Railway Station site. Has thousands of second hand books, plus coffee shop, coal fires etc. Well worth a visit!

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Housesitting Wanted

Conditions of home exchange

  • No small children
  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Pet Care required

Dudley (HE28230)

Northumberland,   England

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 4) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • New Zealand - Wellington; or cat sitter

Dates available

September 2013 - October 2013
September 2013 - October 2013

Swap duration: 3 - 4 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2     

Membership expiry date: 21 Jan 2014