Large 4 bedroom Federation Home in excellent location in Sydney home swap

A large 4 bedroom family home in the Inner West of Sydney. Great for families (particularly with younger kids).

My home is perfect for families and is full and I mean FULL of toys, complete with seperate play room. I have 3 kids - 2,4,6 and so any children you have will be entertained while you enjoy a wine or tea.

3 Bedrooms will be available -
1) king, 2) a queen (or two singles) and 3) has bunks and toddler bed. (Pic to be updated)

Sunroom: a place to lounge in the sun and read a book with a cuppa. Or a glass of wine. The doors are bi fold and open out onto the decking and lovely lush garden.

There is no aircon - we are greenies - plus the federation style means the house is cool during summer.

For the youngsters
Huge amount of toys, DVD's and book shelves of kids books. Full packed to the rafters, play room.

Record Player
Teltra T box (movies) pause live TV
Plasma TV
All beds complete with linen
All Towels supplied

Residentail area.
What we wouldn't enjoy is..
Smoking inside (plenty of space outside front and back).

Petersham is famous for it's portuguese chicken.
Many coffee shops and restaurants within a 3 minute walk.
20 mins to the Easter show (by train)

Petersham train station is a 7 minute walk. It's 5 stops to central station (and one more stop to Town Hall). Circular Quay (all Ferries) and the Opera House is therefore 30 minutes from our door.
Bus : Bus stop 15 second walk from front door for both directions. Easy access to other suburbs.
And if you are Australian you can also get 'go get' car - there are 4 cars nearby.
If you have your own car there is on street parking next to the house.

BEACHES: Easy drive 15 mins to the closest beach and-30 - 40 minute drive to 8 of Sydneys most famous beaches (Bondi for example).

Easter Show is 16 minute train journey! (Petersham to Homebush)

Zoo is easily accessible by ferry. Luna Park/is easily accessible by ferry and train. (one stop further than Circular Quay). Darling Harbour (Eateries, Imax, chinese gardens, Aquarium) is walking distance from Town Hall.

Newtown dendy (2 train stops, easy bus stop across the road) and broadway has Hoyts - Broadway is 20 min bus ride.

Lots of food outlets nearby. Also fashion etc in the city, Newtown and Oxford Street.

The Inner West is known for it's diversity. Enjoy wonderful parks, (including water parks for the kids) many pools (1 outdoor pool within walking distance and another new indoor pool 5 minute drive - or 30 minute walk).
Fantastic live music venues - I can give you hints - my husband is a musician.
Many wonderful eateries (great restaurants and coffee shops)- Haberfield is Italian, Marrickville is Asian, Newtown is a smorgasbord!
Wooli creek reserve is a 5 minute drive from us.

If you are driving there is plenty of space on the road outside ours. We do have a garage but it's filled with kids stuff.

Guest Access

Everything. We keep our office locked and that's it. The house will have food in the fridge and freezer and supplies for you to use or use and replace. Nothing worst than needing a bit of ketchup or mustard and having to buy a jar ... All here ...

Interaction with Guests

We are on email. We will be away enjoying another friendly home.

About the location

Petersham is 15 minutes by train to the City centre (Circular quay, all ferries, Town Hall, Domain, Theatres, Botanical Gardens, Darling harbour, Aquarium etc)

Portuguese neighbourhood/ and cosmopolitan Newtown, Marrickville (and the organic markets in a Sunday waling distance from the house)

Getting around
Lots of public transport. We are open to leaving our car which seats 7. Train 9 mins away. Bus 40 meters away and 130 meters away - 3 different 'routes'.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • Children welcome

Sydney (HE33118)

New South Wales,   Australia

  • 4 bed   (sleeps 7) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • UK
  • New Zealand
  • Open to offers
Particularly UK and Essex - my mum is in Halstead/Sudbury area /NZ but open to anywhere

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 2 - 3 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 3
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 09 Aug 2016