Victorian terraced house in quiet Cambridge street near to river and Jesus Green home swap

Our house is about a ten minute walk into the centre of Cambridge. We have four bedrooms: one is a lovely white attic with two single beds and a bathroom (well, shower room). The master bedroom has a double bed, and the middle room and back room on the first floor both have single beds with comfortable mattresses. There are lots of desks scattered about if you want to work. There is a little garden at the back that is full of flowers in pots (and it would be good if they got watered a bit while we were away). There's a picnic table outside, and a bench.

The kitchen is airy and light and gives out onto the garden with French windows. There is a table in the kitchen near the doors where we spend most of our time, but there is also a dining room with six chairs and a front room with a smart TV and not particularly comfortable sofas and chairs. One chair is a lovely old Shaker chair from America and it's very comfy indeed.

The floors are white floorboards downstairs, terracotta tiles in the kitchen, and carpets on the upper floors and stairs. The main bathroom, which is not big but does have a bath and shower, is on the first floor.

About the location

I am pretty besotted with Cambridge. You can walk along the river each evening, past the houseboats and out towards Ely, or the other way, into town and to the colleges. You can hire any kind of boats at Scudamores in town to go for a trip on the river. We go kayaking very sedately a lot of the time, and punting if we have visitors.

Cambridge itself has a new, or actually ancient, vista around each corner. It's beautiful. The colleges, of course, dominate the town in terms of architecture, and date from 1200 or so, up to the present day. There are many good restaurants, lots of cafes, lots of open markets and tiny shops - as I write I wonder why we even want to go on holiday.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Children welcome

Cambridge (HE33116)

Cambridgeshire,   England

  • 4 bed   (sleeps 6) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Europe
  • Czech Republic
  • England
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Scotland
  • Spain
  • Wales

Dates available

August 2015 - August 2015
October 2015 - November 2015

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks


Meet the member

Membership expiry date: 19 Jul 2015