Wadsworth House home swap

Our house has four bedrooms - two doubles, a nursery and a children's bedroom with two single beds big enough for kids up to about 12 yrs old. There is also a sofa bed in the living room that can sleep two. We also have a proper wooden cot in the nursery and, if you have more children in the group, we have roll up mattresses and plenty of floor space in two of the bedrooms!

We have a large open plan kitchen/dining room and a conservatory overlooking the garden (will be furnished with a large breakfast table and benches by the time you came to stay!). We also have a large living room with an open fire.

There is a dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, huge American style fridge freezer and a separate wine chiller. The cooker is an Aga - lots of fun and easy to use!

The garden is about an acre with over fifty trees and a river running along the bottom. It is an idyllic place for kids to explore but because of the river I would recommend having somebody keep an eye on them! Opposite the lane is an outbuilding with a garage. There is parking for one car but there is also a working mill down the lane and they are very happy for us to use their car park (we have two cars and use it all the time).

About the location

We live in Oxenhope - a small village in the heart of Bronte country in West Yorkshire. It's about 5 mins drive over to Haworth - famous for the Bronte Sisters who lived there and its beautiful cobbled street full of shops, pubs and restaurants. We are surrounded by stunning moorland with dozens of walks and cycle routes (the tour de france came through the village this year) and we are about 30/40 minutes drive to Skipton and the Yorkshire Dales beyond that. The other way, about 20 minutes drive, is Hebden Bridge which is packed full of independent shops, pubs and restaurants. About 5 minutes walk from the house is a reasonably sized Co-op which would be able to supply all your needs.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • Pets welcome
  • Children welcome

Oxenhope (HE31249)

Yorkshire,   England

  • 4 bed   (sleeps 8) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 3

Membership expiry date: 03 Jul 2016