Spacious family home in Balham, SW London home swap

A recently refurbished, 5 bedroom family home. The ground floor consists of a large family room/kitchen/dining area and a separate cosy lounge. The family room opens out onto the garden via full-width, sliding doors, which are lovely in summer. Unfortunately, at the time of writing we've not restored the garden and it's pretty much unusable but there is a patio with furniture for a little outside space.

The main room has a large TV, DVD player and a stereo with speakers in the ceiling. We subscribe to various streaming services (Netflix, Amazon Prime and Now TV) so there's loads of free TV and movies to watch in the evenings. The house has super-fast cable internet / wifi.

The bedrooms are all doubles, one is currently a nursery and one is an office. There's a toddler bed in the nursery if you need it but there's also an inflatable double bed, meaning the house can sleep 10 if required.

There are two bathrooms, one with a large, deep metal bath and one with a bath and shower. There's also a separate toilet on the ground floor.

The kitchen is modern, with all the appliances you'd expect and well stocked with equipment and gadgets.

The basement has been converted to a laundry, with a washing machine, dryer, sink etc.

The house is warm, spacious and comfortable and we're still working on it so I'll update the description and photos as and when things change!

We're happy to leave you our car as part of the swap, unless we really need it for travel. It's a Prius, so not the most exciting vehicle in the world but cheap to run.

About the location

We're in the centre of Balham in SW London. We're incredibly well served for local amenities with numerous shops, restaurants, cafes and pubs within 5 mins walk of the house.

There's a supermarket (Waitrose) at the end of the road and another (Sainsbury's) 10 mins beyond that. There are also lots of independent shops, with a butcher, a fishmonger, a bakery and a deli all nearby.

A little further afield, our neighbouring areas are Clapham, Battersea and Clapham Junction / Northcote Road, each of which is full of shops, restaurants and things to do. And it's only 20 mins to the centre of London with all the museums, theatres and entertainment you could want.

Balham is between Clapham, Wandsworth and Tooting Commons so there's green space 15 mins walk North, West or South East.

And we have great transport links. There's a combined rail and underground station. It's 15 mins by train to Victoria and 20 mins by tube to Oxford Circus. The train also takes you to Gatwick in about 40 mins.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Open to Offers
  • Housesitting Offered
  • Weekend Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • Pets welcome
  • Children welcome

Balham (HE29424)

London,   England

  • 5 bed   (sleeps 10) 3 bath

Preferred destinations

  • UK / Europe

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 1
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 05 Jan 2017