Lovely 3 Bed home swap in London, England

This house was built in 1780 - we found a note behind the panelling from a young man off to start his life in the New World dated 1783 - he went to America. It is a very nice house and has many authentic period features such as fireplaces, cornices, wood panelling etc. It is four storeys high with 2 rooms to each floor. The basement comprises a kitchen and small sitting room - the partition wall has been taken out to make one large room. We spend most of our time here. you can get 8 adults around the kitchen table. All our cooking is done on the AGA, a cast iron stove that is permanently on. We also have a small wood-burning stove.

On the ground floor we have a small living room and a study. the living room contains a long-case (grandfather)clock. It is very precious to us. It was made in London in 1735. Please do not damage it. The study leads into the back garden. It is small but fine for four or five people. There is a wc.

The first floor contains two bedrooms: a double and a single. These rooms have nice high ceilings and excellent fireplaces. All windows are shuttered up to the first floor. There is a very old square piano - out of tune.

The second floor (ie the top) contains the second double bedroom and bathroom with interconnecting door. The bathroom is quite large and has an iron bath that is big enough for two...

Our cat, Dusty will look after you when you are here.

We live on Cross Street in the heart of Islington. It is an attractive, bustling street and we have good neighbours. There is so much to do locally: There are a number of theatres and cinemas all within 5 minutes walk and many restaurants catering to all tastes and budgets. We have very good shops nearby selling a wide range of upmarket furniture and household goods, clothing and shoes, fish, meat and vegetables, delicatessen etc etc.
Arsenal football ground is a 25 minute walk away(if you can get tickets) and there are attractive local parks.
We are close to two tube stations so you can quickly get to the West End (20 minutes). St Pancras and Kings Cross stations are close by if you need to travel further.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • Pets welcome
  • Pet Care required
  • Children welcome

London (HE28882)

London,   England

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 6) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open - somewhere sunny

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offers


Meet the member

Adults: 2     

Membership expiry date: 30 Apr 2015