Our swap request is fulfilled.

Lovely 1 Bed home swap in Neutral Bay, Australia

My apartment is located on the ground floor at the rear of a modern, low-rise apartment block; 5 minutes walk from the supermarkets, cafes, bars and restaurants of Neutral Bay on Sydney's lower north shore and a 10 minutes bus ride to the city of Sydney.

You will have an undercover secure car park space, but you might want to consider the transport alternatives. A local bus passes the front door of the block and follows the scenic route to and from the city. Three blocks away is Military Road where buses run every few minutes between Sydney city and the North shore including all the northern beaches. If you fancy a trip across the harbour to visit the Opera House and the other attractions of the city, or to start ferry hopping around the harbour and up the Parramatta River, then walk 15 minutes down a series of paths to the Neutral Bay ferry wharf. If are you feeling energetic you can spend 25 minutes walking to one of two local railway stations. You could catch a train there or keep on walking, over the Sydney Harbour Bridge, or on the network of walking trails that wend their way around the bays and beaches of inner Sydney Harbour. Then there are the options of catching (water or road) taxis, or driving on the direct freeway connections around, and out of Sydney proper.

You would live in a large, light filled home unit where the lounge and dining area opens onto a private garden, filled with birds and their song. The patio is a great place to hang out with the newspapers or a book. You are encouraged to complete a little light gardening and for further communing with nature, you can feed a pair of magpies that use me as a feeding station when they have chicks to feed. There is also a very large and noisy kookaburra that s in for a feed occasionally. The bird mincemeat is in the refrigerator, and they will all sing you beautiful songs in reward. The lounge room has full home entertainment facilities, a stock of DVDs, hundreds of hours of classical and pop music on tap, lots of books and very, very comfortable armchairs.

If you like to cook you will use a modern, fully equipped kitchen - three Supermarkets and four off licenses are located within 5 minutes walk. If you think cooking is boring then you can choose from over 25 cafes and restaurants just up the street. They range from "cheap and cheerful" to gourmet. You could also travel further afield, catching a cross-city bus to the suburb of Newton near Sydney University, where you can get very good Vietnamese, then watch the passing parade as you window shop on King Street. On the other hand, you could get off your bus in the Haymarket for the full range of Chinese food and great people watching. If those choices do not have appeal, you can visit the local pub (The Oaks) and barbeque a steak, the local fish shop for very good take away fish and chips or one of the six options for Indian food. If none of that is attractive there is always the McDonald's outlet located 15 minutes walk away.

The internal laundry has a clothes washer and dryer but you can dry your washing in privacy out in the sun on the patio. There is a separate toilet and bathroom with both a bath and a shower stall, and this apartment block has great hot water for that relaxing soak ? you will find the bath salts in the hall closet.

There is a large double bedroom facing out to a side garden, with loads of storage space for luggage and clothes. If you leave the blinds open overnight you will wake up with the early morning sun flooding the room.

What was the second bedroom is now a fully equipped home office including a printer and scanner. There is broadband internet access and you can stay in contact with family or friends using video calling on Skype. There are plug and play connections in the office and the living room if you want to connect your laptop into the house internet access and you are welcome to make use of all that is available.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Rental Offered

Conditions of home exchange

  • No small children
  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed

Neutral Bay (HE27161)

New South Wales,   Australia

  • 1 bed   (sleeps 2) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • London

Dates available

November 2012 - February 2013
January 2012 - January 2012

Swap duration: 1 - 2 months


Meet the member

Adults: 1     

Membership expiry date: 13 Apr 2013