Quiet suburban home on the edge of the woods home swap

Our house is a warm and welcoming family home, about a mile from the centre of Norwich, a beautiful city! Shops, sites of historical interest and theatres/cinema are all within a short drive or bus ride. We are also around half an hour's drive from some gorgeous Norfolk beaches and two hours from London by train.

The house comes with multi-channel TV (including Netflix and Prime), WiFi, stacks of books and DVDs, and two friendly cats who just need feeding twice a day. We also have a goldfish (minimal care required).

There are two bedrooms, one double bed, one single, plus a couple of airbeds, and one bathroom, with shower over bath. The house is in a quiet cul-de-sac with a private garden and car port.

Heating is provided by radiators through a gas central heating system with constant hot water - there is also a real fire in the living room with wood and smokeless coal in the store at the back. We use the conservatory as our dining area - it runs the full length of the house and looks out over the sunken garden into the woods. It is heated so can be used Winter or Summer.

I am potentially able to leave my car for your use if you are coming from outside the UK (insurance would need to be arranged).

At the moment, we are principally looking for short swaps in 2017 (weekend breaks) or a longer swap (one to two weeks) in Summer 2018. Open to offers for location so please don't hesitate to ask.

About the location

Norwich has some beautiful historic buildings - including our amazing castle (the third castle built by the Normans after the 1066 invasion!) and a gorgeous cathedral (also Norman). There are multiple museums to visit in and around Norwich and gorgeous places to shop, including cobbled Elm Hill and the Norwich lanes.

The city also benefits from three theatres, two cineplexes and two smaller, independent cinemas, including the fabulous Cinema City, a plethora of places to eat - with plenty of options for vegans and vegetarians. Norwich has a wonderful cafe culture and a really eclectic feel. There are two universities in the city, so the city has a very young vibe.

For day to day needs, there are handy shops a short walk from the house, with many more in the city centre, including a wide range of independent and locally owned shops/boutiques as well as all the usual chains and department stores. There is also the famous and historic Norwich market, and the ancient Norwich Lanes to lose yourself in for a day, if you're not careful!

Further afield, there is a wide range of things to do in and around Norfolk, including visiting the coast (from the busy pier and front at Cromer to the quieter beaches of Holkham or Sea Palling). There are stately homes to visit and many gorgeous nature reserves, as well as a couple of amusement parks and wildlife reserves - Pleasurewood Hills and Africa Alive are just a short drive away, as is the famous Dinosaur Park!

If you come in October and enjoy a good scare, there is also the local Hallowe'en attraction - Primevil - hosted at the Dinosaur Park, which is worth a visit, and a 'Dia dos Muertos' event in the city. In June and at Easter we have fairs, plus a range of local music events and festivals.

Norwich is also a UNESCO City of Literature - the first in England, so for book lovers (both readers and writers), lots of events are offered on a regular basis, including the 'Noirwich' crime writing festival in the Autumn.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Non Simultaneous Exchange
  • Open to Offers
  • Housesitting Offered

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Pet Care required

Norwich (HE20419)

Norfolk,   England

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 4) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers
  • Europe
UK (especially coast, Yorkshire or Peaks/Lakes)

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Short break (2-5 days)

Meet the member

Adults: 2     

Membership expiry date: 24 Jul 2018