Wye Valley family

We have recently moved from North London to rural Herefordshire and we love it. We completed one very successful houseswap to Bath before we moved here.

We now live in a four bedroom cottage in the Wye Valley in a lovely rural location. The guest bedroom is on the ground floor and has a double bed and separate bathroom opposite. Main bedroom (with ensuite), two children`s bedrooms and family bathroom are upstairs. Downstairs is the kitchen/diner, lounge (with log burner) play room area and conservatory (not really used by us). We have wifi, sky tv (with sports) and netflix. There is also a one bedroom annex which is not currently in use (we are hoping to convert to a holiday let).

We have a large enclosed garden and two small paddocks where our chickens and farm cats live.

We have two well behaved dogs who we’d like to travel with us. Two of our cats live in the house (go out via the catflap). They would like to be fed and have a bit of company, although they are very independent. The two farm cats live outside and need feeding once a day across in the field. We have 5 chickens who need letting out in the morning, feeding, a little cleaning and closing up at night (about 5pm in winter).

We are looking to swap with animal lovers who are looking for a rural, countryside retreat. Cat-friendly dogs welcome.

About the location

Our closest town is Whitchurch which is less than a 10 minute drive. We are about 15 minutes from Ross-on-Wye and Monmouth. We are also very close to Riverside activities and walks at Symonds Yat.

There are loads of public footpaths from our house. King Arthur`s cave is in walking distance. You can walk to Wales over Biblins rope bridge. There is a village shop in Whitchurch and local pubs as well as and supermarkets, pubs, restaurants and highstreet shops in Ross-on-Wye and Monmouth.

The lanes to our house are very windy and narrow but we are only a couple of miles from the main road.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Weekend Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Pets welcome
  • Children welcome
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Pet Care required

Symonds Yat (HE39697)

Herefordshire,   England

  • 4 bed   (sleeps 5) 3 bath

Preferred destinations

  • England
  • Wales
  • Scotland
School holidays and UK weekend swaps in 2020

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 2
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 15 Apr 2021