Close to CBD, beaches and harbour - Sydney

We live in a two-storey apartment in Waverton, a harbour-side quiet pocket on Sydney's lower north shore. Our apartment is on the top level in a building of only 8 units.

The lower, entrance level floor has two bedrooms--both opening on to a leafy courtyard. One bedroom has single beds (can be a king) and the other has a comfortable single and our study area. There's also a utility room with separate washer and dryer, though there's also a fold-away clothesline in the courtyard , handy for all those damp beach towels. The family bathroom has separate bath and shower.

Upstairs is a large open-plan living room with HD 49" TV opening on to a good-sized terrace, great for sunset drinks, a study nook and the formal dining area. There's a well-equipped eat-in kitchen (Miele induction cooktop and dishwasher), powder room and master (ensuite) bedroom with king size bed, opening on to a sunny morning balcony.

We have close ties to the UK and now we've relocated back to Sydney, are keen to return to visit friends and family every year or so.

If you're interested in an exchange, from a couple of weeks -- for places relatively close to Australia -- to a few months for places further afield, we'd love to hear from you.

About the location

Waverton is so close to the CBD of North Sydney and minutes by train over the Bridge to Sydney CBD but is also a very quiet, green suburb with some lovely parks including the native bushland of Balls Head and the newly renovated Coal Loader.

Pretty Brennan Park is just across the road and restaurants and cafes abound at Waverton, McMahon's Pt, Kirribilli, Crow's Nest and Neutral Bay.

Waverton train station and buses to the CBD and McMahon's Pt ferry are a few minutes' walk away.

Once a month North Sydney Council supports a farmers' market and a 'regular' market at the park surrounding the Council Chambers and Library, which are well-attended and always fun with music and all kinds of local produce. During the summer there's a Twilight Food Market with live music at the same location, where locals gather to meet friends, eat and enjoy the music.

The nearest beach, Balmoral, popular with families, sailors, kayakers, nature lovers, early morning swimming and jogging enthusiasts, coffee lovers--i.e. everyone-- is a 20 minute drive away.

Buses from nearby Crows Nest can take you to Chatswood, Balmoral, Manly, the Zoo and all those elegant Mosman shops. The bus rides themselves are a great way to see the sights.

And this is just the tip of the iceberg. We feel very lucky to live in this neighbourhood -- but also have incurably itchy feet!

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed

Sydney (HE35805)

New South Wales,   Australia

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 5) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • UK
  • Europe
  • North America
  • Open to offers
  • Asia
Particularly interested in the UK where we have many friends and family. But we`re very happy to consider exchanges in Europe or Asia -- or pretty much anywhere really.

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 months

Meet the member

Adults: 2     
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 15 Oct 2022